Beautiful East Cultural tourism

konik 

Cóż za bogactwo kuultuur!

Golden Forest Hermitage in Rytwiany Add to route
(0 votes)
Klasztorna 25
28-236 Rytwiany
Świętokrzyskie Mountains (Holy Cross Mountains)
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
www.pustelnia.com.pl
Rytwiany-pokamedulski zespół sakralny-Archiwum ROTWŚ
Rytwiany-pokamedulski zespół sakralny-Archiwum ROTWŚ
In 1624 in the vicinity of Rytwiany town Golden Forest Hermitage was built for the Camaldolese order of Monte Corona congregation. At the time the Annunciation Church, monastic buildings, outbuildings and eremitorium, a complex of hermit houses came into existence. To this day arriving tourists may admire the church with Baroque equipment, a part of one-storey monastic buildings with the so- called Tęczyński’s isolated monastery - the only preserved hermit house of Jan Magnus Tęczyński, the founder of this sacral complex and a part of outbuildings, where the monastic kitchen, foresteria (the pilgrims house) and the drugstore were located. The monastery, with its buildings, was the second after the Camaldolese Center in Bielany/ Cracow in Poland. Since 2001 Centre of Culture and Education “Źródło” has been taking care of the monastic complex. According to the program “In footsteps of the Camaldolese, time of silence and contemplation” on assume the creation of a Camaldolese path, beginning in Rytwiany and redevelopment of the ancient eremitorium , construction of 16 hermit houses, reconstruction of the garden and building of tourist-recreational facilities, where the tourist will be set back to the enclave of silence and peace in order to regenerate one’s psychical and physical strength. Already now, there is a possibility to spend holidays in the former camaldolese hermitage. In the Saint Benedict Hermitage –the first reconstructed house, the guests have at their disposal a bedroom, a living room with a chimney, a bathroom, kitchen appendix and a chapel. Furthermore full board is offered. Encouraging can be fresh air, charming forests surrounding the Hermitage inviting for walks, mushrooming and biking trips or i.e. pottery classes. Besides holidays in the hermitage, grill-events, camp fires, family meetings can be organized as well as monastery food degustation upon prior contact with the administration office. Back to the monastery itself – a curiosity is the wax figure (death mask)of Anna Dziulanka– a half-Italian of low position, the chosen of magnate Stanisław Łukasz Opaliński, who lost completely his head for her, risking the reputation of one of the most significant families of Rzeczpospolita of those times. The crypts under the church house tombs of monks, the chapter-house houses the tomb of Radziwiłł- Family and the undergrounds of Saint Romuald chapel hide the sarcophagi of Stanisław Łukasz Opaliński. The main monastery altar is decorated with a painting by the monastic prior of Venanto da Subiaco. In 1820 the convent had been liquidated. The last four monks lived in the hermitage until 1825, when they have been transferred to the Warsaw Hermitage. In XIX century, on initiative of Elżbieta of Branicka Family and Adam Count of Potocki Family, the vacant monastery has been given to the Order of Reformati, who after the fall of the January Uprising were forced to leave Rytwiany. The Camaldolese Order returned to the monastery in 1925. However the condition of the buildings was not habitable and the monks left the place. In 1935 the church became a Parish Church. In the monastery neighborhood, in the forests, in a small valley where on find the spring „Browarek”, there is a beautifully located wooden chapel of Our Lady of Fatima. This place belongs to one of the biking paths, so it’s worth to stay a while in this picturesque recess.